What is MK4, MK5, etc.?

Many of the product listings on dieselgeek.com are described in terms of the generation of car or chassis type. To reduce confusion we created this page to allow you to determine what chassis type and generation your car falls into. Here's the breakdown:

MK8: The 2022 model year brought the MK8 Golf. At launch the only body styles offered were the Golf R and GTI. For the 8th Generation, Volkswagen discontinued two door variants offering only the more popular 4-door plus hatch format. The MK8 is once again based upon the same MQB platform that was introduced in 2013 for th MK7, and VW now uses for many of its new vehicles. Powering these hot hatches is the fourth generation of the EA888 turbo gasoline engine.  

MK7: The 7th Generation Golf, Jetta, and SportWagen are built from Volkswagen’s new modular transverse platform referred to as MQB. The MQB platform debuted in 2013 production cars in the European market. In 2015 the MQB platform was introduced to the North American market as the Golf, Golf SportWagen and new Audi A3. The SportWagen was placed under the Golf moniker as the Golf SportWagen (GSW) for the MK7 generation rather than the Jetta to bring the nomenclature in line with the Euro market cars. The MK7 TDI was limited in North America to 2015 and 2016 model years as a result of the Dieselgate scandal. MK7s were available as two or four door hatchback and SportWagen body styles. These final TDIs were offered only with the timing belt driven 2.0l EA288 engine, code CRUA. The GTI and R models received the third generation EA888, common parlance being EA888.3. 

In 2017 the Golf and Golf variants received a mild facelift. These models are typically referred to as the MK7.5 though differences are large aesthetic. Also added in 2017 were the GSW 4Motion and Alltrack, both based on the MQB platform. Unfortunately these 1.8TSI powered all-wheel drive SportWagons had a limited run and were discontinued in 2019. 

The MK7 Jetta debuted in the 2019 as the Jetta GLI utilizing the MQB architecture. Along with a total redesign, the MK7 GLI received the same drivetrain found in the MK7 GTI. Lower line trims followed in later years.

MK6: With Volkswagen's “A” platform now on its 6th generation, these cars are referred to as the MK6. The MK6 Golf was sold from 2010 through 2014 in North America in Base, TDI, GTI and R trim levels. The TDI models received a 2.0l EA189 CR CJAA engine, while the GTIs used a timing chain driven 2.0T TSI (EA888) turbo gasoline engine. Unlike the other submodels, the R received a more powerful version of the timing belt driven 2.0T FSI EA113 engine, all-wheel drive and cosmetic changes to achieve a sportier look and feel. MK6 Golf R was only offered for 2012 and 2013 model years in North America and 2010- 2012 Rest of World. All TSI, TDI, and R models received VW’s MQ350 6 speed manual or the DQ250 DSG automatic transmission.

 The MK6 Jetta sedan was released as a 2011 model with the GLI following in 2012. The latter sported the 2.0T TSI (EA888) engine and optional 6 speed transmission borrowed from the GTI. The MK6 Jetta is its own car from a sheet metal and interior standpoint, but shares the drivetrain and chassis with the MK6 Golf. While the MK6 Golf could only be had until 2014, the Jetta sedan was offered until 2018 with updates along the way.

From 2011- 2014 the MK6 Jetta TDI was offered with a redesigned 2.0L Common Rail Turbo Diesel Engine (EA189 CR TDI.) Applicable engine codes were CBEA and CJAA. In 2015 Volkswagen updated all TDI models in North America to the EA288 engine before removing them entirely from the North American market. The North American 2015 Jetta engine code is CVCA.


The 2012- 2019 Beetle was based on the 6th generation “A” class chassis, just like the Golf and Jetta. This meant these cars shared engine and transmission options.The Beetle Turbo received the potent 2.0T TSI (EA888) engine and optional 6 speed (MQ350) transmission that was found in the GTI and GLI models. A TDI Trim level was also available, featuring two  2.0L Common Rail Turbo Diesel Engines- the EA189 CJAA (from 2012-2014) as well as the EA288 CRUA engine for the 2015 model year. The Beetle was available in both coupe and convertible body styles until it was discontinued in 2019. 

NMS: The NMS Passat was released for the 2012 model year specifically for the North American and Chinese markets. This was a completely new chassis internally known as the New Midsize Sedan. The Passat was available with a host of engine and transmission options, largely the same as those found in the Golf, Jetta, and Beetle including the popular TDI option. From 2012- 2014 the NMS Passat TDI was offered with the 2.0L Common Rail Turbo Diesel Engine, code CKRA. In 2015 Volkswagen updated all TDI models in North America, including the Passat, to the CVCA, more widely known as the EA288 engine family. As with the Golf, Jetta and Beetle, the TDI trim was removed from North America after 2015. This was also the final year the Passat was offered with a manual transmission; 2016 and up were only offered with the Aisin sourced 09G 6 speed automatic. The 2016 also came with a new R-Line trim that included 19” wheels, a more aggressive front bumper and rear diffuser, along with chrome exhaust tips and leather wrapped interior pieces. The R-Line was available until 2022.

In 2019 the Passat got a complete redesign.The 2019- 2022 Passats are sometimes referred to as the “Second Generation NMS.”  VW will discontinue the North American Passat entirely in 2023. 

Black Mk4 JettaBlue New BeetleBlack Mk4 Golf

MK4: Jetta, Golf, GTI and New Beetle This is the 4th generation "A" size chassis that applies to many of the products we sell. These cars are also commonly referred to "A4" cars but since we also sell products for the Audi A4 we prefer to call these cars MK4 which is a shortened version of Mark 4 or fourth generation. MK4 applies to Golf and GTI sold in the U.S. from mid 1999 through 2006 and Jetta sold from mid 1999 through 2005.5. The 1998-2010 New Beetle is also built off of the MK4 chassis. 

1998 Jetta III TDI

A3: Jetta This was the 3rd generation Jetta that was sold from 1993- mid 1999. Also called the MK3 or MKIII. 

1997 Passat B4 TDI

B4: Passat This is the 4th generation of the B class cars (larger than the "A" class). This includes the 1995-1997 Passat. 

2004 Jetta TDI 2001 Audi A4 1.8T

B5: Passat and Audi A4 This was the 5th generation of the B class car. VW and Audi shared this platform to produce the Audi A4 and VW Passat. The Audi A4 used this platform from 1996 through 2001 and VW used this platform from 1998 through 2005. The facelifted 2002-2005 Passat is also commonly called a B5.5.

2006 Audi A4 2.0T

B6 and B7: Audi A4 The B6 and B7 Audi A4 were refinements on the B5 chassis. The B6 and B7 A4's were sold from 2002 through 2008.